Wednesday, February 21, 2018

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin


How would you live your life if you knew the exact date of your death?  Would your choices take you to that fateful day or lead you away?  And most importantly, are they even choices anymore?  Benjamin cleverly explores this dilemma in The Immortalists. This imaginative and gripping family drama follows the scatter shot lives of the four Gold siblings.  As young teens they visit a Roma Gypsy fortune teller who foretells the exact date of their deaths.  Armed with this information they make choices regarding their futures and how they live their lives.  These choices ultimately lead each one of them to their day of reckoning.   Each life story is gripping and heartbreaking.  The reader is left constantly wondering if they had turned left instead of right could they have lived another day, or is all of life written in the stars.  I highly recommend this book for readers of Donna Tartt, Alice Hoffman, and Anita Shreve.

Reviewed by Amy Churchill, Head of Zauel Library

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

The Music Shop: A Novel by Rachel Joyce

Reminiscent of Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity, this emotionally satisfying novel about love and vinyl records is sure to be one of 2018’s best books.

Frank runs a struggling record store in late 1980’s London and he’ll only sell vinyl, despite the fact that his suppliers are breathing down his neck to modernize and buy CDs.  But Frank is so much more than a stubborn shop owner. He’s the “music whisperer.” The man can connect any person with the right music for them-even if they don’t think they want it, and it can change their lives.  He fixes broken hearts and broken marriages, and knows what music can fill a hole in someone’s soul. 

Despite his gift of helping others, Frank has his own emotional baggage and he must come to terms with it one day when a woman in a green coat passes out loitering in front of his shop. 

This novel is beautifully written.  A must-read. 

Reviewed by: Kim White, Head of Hoyt Library