Monday, November 21, 2016

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware




In the vein of Agatha Christie, Ruth Ware gives us a classic murder mystery set at sea. Lo Blacklock, travel journalist, embarks on a week-long luxury cruise aboard a boutique ship. This is just what Lo needs after her flat was burglarized while she lay passed out in the bedroom. For a brief moment, Lo thinks she just may be able to unwind and looks forward to advancing her career. After all, the cabins are luxurious, the guests are a-list, and the ship, while a bit claustrophobic, is decked out. 
                                                                                                                                                                                                     Upon getting ready for the cruise’s first dinner party, Lo realizes she’s forgotten mascara. Having heard noise from the cabin next door, Cabin 10, Lo hopes she can borrow some from her neighbor. The encounter, while strange, does end with a tube of mascara in Lo’s grip. The cast of characters starts to reveal itself, but someone is missing. The same someone that Lo believes she witnessed being thrown from the ship in the wee hours of the morning. With the help of ship security and staff, Lo embarks on her quest to find the missing woman - the woman she swears she encountered in Cabin 10. The problem? All passengers on the ship’s registry are accounted for. It’s Lo’s word against everyone else’s . . . and someone else wants Lo to stay quiet.

Reviewed by Jennifer Harden

Monday, October 31, 2016

CATtastic Crafts : DIY Projects for Cats and Cat People by Mariko Ishikawa



Holiday time is just ahead and of course you want some gifts for the felines in your house!  Here are more than 30 “cat-approved” projects you can make quickly and inexpensively.  

Projects include cat toys meant to give your kitty exercise and some interaction with you, a three-tier cat condo, and lots of projects for cat beds, bowls, kitty clothing and more. There’s even a section of cat-themed accessories for the humans in your cat’s life.

Many of these plans are simple enough that they would be great projects for older children to work on with a little parental supervision.  Cat-lovers will really get a kick out of this fun and quirky book!

Reviewed by Kate Tesdell
Click here to find this book

Monday, October 17, 2016

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson



This book is about what it was like to be a girl growing up in 1970’s Brooklyn.  It’s told from August’s perspective as an adult.  She and her brother moved to Brooklyn with their father when they were eight and four.  Their mother was left behind, and August said she would join them “tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow.”  They sat at the window watching the street below while their father was at work.  Eventually, they were allowed to leave the apartment and join the kids in the street below.  August became friends with Sylvie, Gigi and Angela.  They were inseparable.  The book is written in short memories.  It skips a little bit, as if August was remembering one thing, which led to another memory…  It’s quick to read and has a dream-like quality.  

Reviewed by Fiona Swift
Click here to find this book